The BRF Story
Our history goes back almost 100 years, and (we think) makes for very exciting reading.
By the end of 1926, several other churches had adopted the scheme, bringing the total membership up to 1500. With the growth of numbers, some changes in organisation were necessary. In due course, the name of the Fellowship changed from 'The Fellowship of St. Matthew' to The Bible Reading Fellowship (BRF).
Over the coming years, more and more copies of the Bible reading notes were printed. By 1929, some 20,000 copies were being printed; by 1939 this number had swelled to 238,000, with readers across the world.
The context in which we operate and the range of activities we're engaged in have changed and evolved over the decades. Yet the values and aims that lie at the heart of BRF today continue to be true to the original vision that inspired Revd Leslie Mannering back in 1922.
Our conviction remains the same - encountering the Christian faith transforms lives and communities.
As we look ahead, there are certainly challenges and needs to be met (discover how you can get involved), yet our hope is the same: